Journal Through It

Just delighted to return to my art journal with another creative journal challenge from the talented and generous Kimberly Kelly Santini.

While her gratitude bomb took a moon phases theme, mine came out on a completely different path. First writing the names of those whose presence in my life filled me with love, I completely filled the page with pencil writing. In fact it became so trance-like, I found mysel mirror writing….something I haven’t done in a long time.

Acutely aware of the passage of time as I face my 70th birthday in the summer, I am always intrigued by the progress of flowers. That first hint of a bud, the moment it blossoms fully and the slow fading and dropping of petals. Frankly it never occurred to me that there’s a very literal reference to “stop and smell the roses” message on this page until I finished it. Also broke out my flower of life stencil (one of my favorite sacred shapes) and added circular reference to our trips around the sun.

Grateful for much these days. Sometimes, when the world is falling apart around us, we need to center back and try our best to keep up our energy. Perhaps in order to pass it on to those in much greater need through whatever way we can.

Leave a comment