Sketches from South Lido


One of my artistic goals this year was to work on my people painting skills.  There’s been little time to practice. Relocating, moving again, 31 day challenges and commissions have kept me painting, but for the most part I have been working well within my artistic comfort zone.

Finding someone whose people painting skills sort of jive with my ideas of how I’d like to paint people has been a breath of fresh air. Lively, bright, and colorful,  Graham Berry’s paintings are just a joy for me to look at. Wish he lived in the States. He has graciously posted some videos of him painting.  While I’ve yet to get to watch any of the videos, I’ve promised myself after the current commission is done I will watch. Incentive! In the meantime, I sketched on the beach yesterday.

The first time we’ve been to the beach since moving to the new house, we have been so busy hanging pictures, unpacking, and enjoying the pool.  Great reminder of one of the reasons we moved to this pretty place. The beach is a great place to practice drawing people.  Though young children are not patient models.  It’s also reasonably easy to take reference photos without people noticing.  I used to sketch people in airports, but realized I was getting suspicious looks.  Now if I sketch in an airport, I do shoes and bags on the ground.   No chance of eye to eye contact and glares when doing that.

In reviewing, I’m thinking this goal might have to stretch into 2017!

Have you “Stretched” artistically lately?

“Did You Art Today?”

2 thoughts on “Sketches from South Lido

Leave a Reply

