World Watercolor Month 7/17/16


#worldwatercolormonth

Day 17

In January of 2015 when I completed my first 30 painting in 30 days challenge, I swore I’d never do it again.

But here I am, and today I’m exposing my artistic weakness.  People.  I can paint portraits with intricate detail, but when I try to incorporate people into my looser paintings, I am often left with stiff poses, lackluster skin tones and too much detail.

By exposing my painting weakness with this painting, I am reminded of what I often told my students.  They are not all masterpieces. While this painting does not sing to my soul, I do like the ghost-like people and buildings in the background.  Besides being reminded I need to work on my people skills, I also learned a nice atmospheric fade.

There will be another 30 paintings in 30 days challenge in September…do I consider participating and work on painting people in the looser style I love?  Maybe.  We”ll see how the move to our new house goes.

“Did You Art Today?” It certainly wasn’t the most rewarding art day for me.

Leave a Reply

