Floral Friday 12/4/15 or Change Part II

  
My Mom had a way with Christmas Cactus.  Every year they would bloom wildly in her bay window.  My sister and I?  Not so much.  Since I mentioned my Dad in my last blog, it’s only fitting I dedicate today’s Floral Friday to her….my creative muse.

We are back in New Jersey, and I am going through my studio, knowing there is not enough room for everything to go to our new home.  (Spoiler alert:  everyone is getting sketchbooks for Christmas.) There are about 30 VHS tapes, graciously passed on to me by my mentor, Dan Hines’ daughter.  There is an old 13″ honking TV to play them on.  

My goal is to pass the tapes (and TV) on.  But I just know the secret to a great painting is on those tapes, so I have committed to watch them all.

Yesterday’s video was from Tom Lynch.  Wow.  So nice to rewind when I didn’t quite get it.  Today I present my floral based on what I took from my lesson with Mr. Lynch yesterday.  Guess I’m going to have to stop saying that I’m self taught.

Changes today were:   Four colors added to my palette.  Yes you heard that right. Those of you who follow me know I have only painted with four colors.  It’s my keep it simple philosophy.   Today, I increased my palette by 100%. And if that didn’t throw me total batcrap crazy, I switched to a flat brush.  Yikes….what was I doing. My butter brush (a 16 round) is my friend.  And we topped all that change off with a mixing of colors on the palette versus letting them mingle on the paper.  Throwing caution and familiar to the wind, I couldn’t even think about it.  I just painted.

Liking the painting.  Definitely need to explore this a bit more.  Change…..these days, I’m going with the flow.

Leave a Reply

