Old and New

New Painting “No Title Yet”

  
Old Painting “Moody Blues”

  
My Wednesday classes started again today.  Consisting of three new students (one an old co-worker) and a tried and true student.

We did a simple wet-into-wet landscape, using two colors.  It’s admittedly been a bit since I’ve slopped some water on the front and back of my paper and let the paint fly.  It was a happy day.

As our subject,  I used a painting I did years ago in class.  It holds a special place in my heart.  My “breakthrough” painting from a tight watercolor style to loose.  It was about my fourth painting with my hero of watercolor, a local artist named Dan Hines.  Remembering the night clearly, I had thrown my hands up after my first try, convinced I would never “get it”. Dan, the sweet soul that he was, twinkled, and said, “try darker.”

And the freedom that comes with a failed painting struck with a force.  Loading my brush with tons of paint, I pretty much attacked the paper, still damp from its soaking.  The paint fell of the brush and all the advice Dan had been imparting in the previous week’s, finally sunk in.  

My painting today looks decidedly different.  Trading the Indanthrone Blue for the brighter Phthalo, the painting is brighter, but my whites at the base of the trees, disappeared, so I used my trusty razor blade to scape in some trunks.  Reminding me that painting wet-into-wet requires fast thinking.  They are not all “happy accidents.”

Old and New.  Not better, not worse.  Just different.

By the way…..title suggestions appreciated

7 thoughts on “Old and New

  1. I immediately recalled those tree pictures with Dan. Yes, darks. Those pictures I did in his class are very precious to me, always were. I can’t seem to do them without Dan! JOY

Leave a Reply

