I Didn’t Have To – Part Two

So what did I learn from my “didn’t have to do 30 paintings in 30 days challenge”? My competitive streak is a bit stronger than I would have thought. Driven to finish the challenge seems understated.

My capabilities were also stronger than I believed. Four paintings in one day? Seriously?

Found a new grey and brown. Historically, I have painted with an extemely limited palette. Daniel Smith’s Quinacridone Rose, Quinacridone Sienna, Phthalo Blue and Cadmium Yellow. My grey has always been Pthlayo Blue and Quinacridone Sienna. But on several paintings, I used Quinacridone Rose, Pthlayo Blue and cad. yellow to create a warmer grey with the ability to push the warmth. Using those three colors also produced a lovely brown, to compliment the Burnt Sienna.

My palette needs to expand. I need a true red. Sometimes the Quinacridone Rose would just not do. Not sure that the Permanent Red I used is THE red. I will experiment with others in the paint box.

My advice to my students that “they are not all masterpieces” is true. There were some paintings I was not crazy about, but I posted them anyway. A failed painting inspired my historic Day Twenty Five meltdown.

My computer skills need sharpening. Adding links somedays took way longer than doing the painting.

I didn’t have to do 30 Paintings in 30 Days, but I would have missed some great lessons.

Also painted during the 30 paintings in 30 day challenge, but not included.
Also painted during the 30 paintings in 30 day challenge, but not included.
Leave a Reply

