Passing On

20140802-083147-30707053.jpg

He was my mentor, my friend, and an all around sweet soul. Dan Hines, changed the way I paint, he helped me see beyond the photograph, to grasp the essence of the scene. He showed me how to make a painting sing and fall off the brush. Teaching in a dedicated, and helpful way, he influenced my teaching style. And he is always in my heart when I need artistic help.

Dan Hines has passed. I thank you from the bottom of my heart, and try to pass your legacy to my own students.

Dan’s daughter and I have maintained and expanded a friendship. She has graciously, and generously passed on a great deal of supplies, trinkets and treasures from Dan’s studio. The resulting freedom is exhilarating. Any extra supplies will be passed on to my students.

As a thank you I had contemplated doing a portrait of Dan as a gift for her. But, in the infinite wisdom of the Universe, she commissioned me to paint from a photo she had come across. When I saw the photo, it gave me goosebumps.

Doing value sketches, keeping Dan’s memory and the stories he told nearby while painting, I wasn’t surprised it felt effortless and full of joy. Tears were shared when we connected and I gave her the painting.

Knowing his daughter wouldn’t allow me to just give her the painting as a thank you, I asked instead that she forward a donation to the charity of her choice. This morning I realize that passing on has a myriad of meanings and emotions. But they all touch your heart.

4 thoughts on “Passing On

  1. A wonderful tribute and beautifully conceived painting Diane! I also think of Dan often and still feel his presence in my life. I miss his creative spirit and his friendship. I found a “Dan Hines” pen the other day and will use it often until it runs out of inkl! 😀 I know Dan would love this piece you created for MaryAnne too!

  2. Thank you Diane and Sandy. Your respect and fondness for my Dad is appreciated and will keep him alive in the world outside my heart. The painting is more “him” than any traditional portrait could ever be.

Leave a Reply

