Do Over Challenge

In the past two months, I’ve been asked to repaint two images that I had already done. Not one to suffer from a lack of ideas and subject matter, I had never done this before. Neither party would entertain the thought of a print….they wanted an original.

The first was a bit intimidating. As my palette has remained the same for about ten years, I knew I could replicate the colors….but would it feel the same? Brushwork and innuendos are a natural process. But I would give it a go.

And in the process, I learned a lot. The brushwork was different, but perhaps a bit more bold, the painting process was less difficult than I imagined. The map was already in front of me. And I was able to correct past “oops”‘ and fix a bit of design in the new painting.

Below are the paintings, the original and the “new” painting.

So to those of you who have the summer off from my art classes, my challenge this week is a “do over”. Look back to some of your first pieces you did with me (painting or drawing) and redo it. Let me know what you’ve learned.

Did You Art Today? (Tm)

20140617-112000-40800980.jpg

20140617-112001-40801449.jpg
<

2 thoughts on “Do Over Challenge

  1. I was just talking about this today with a fellow artist. How when I do something off the cuff that I really like, will I be able to reproduce. Sometimes the muse comes out to play and sometimes not. Mood, color, feel, it all adds up. But doing things over gives a fresh perspective and is a good exercise!! Well done!

Leave a Reply

