Touched by an Angel

Watercolor 9" x 12" $125.
Watercolor 9″ x 12″ $125.

No thunder, no flash, just the jolt of electricity traveling through my dominant left hand on the plugged in computer, splitting the air with an angry burst of crackle. So intense it startled the geriatric dog from her napping spot by the window. The ominous yellow and red radar on the Weather Channel snapped dead.

In the sudden quiet, the dark rolled in, and the thunder and lightning boomed but the electricity returned. I was assured my cable problem would be resolved by the afternoon. Sitting, trying to steady myself in my studio, I heard another crash. A suction cup holding a balsa wood carved half moon ornament hanging on my kitchen window had let go, crashing into my Serenity Angel. Cleanly decapitated, she lay ominously in the sink.

Our peaceful home had been disturbed. Damage slowly appeared like spider veins. Well water turned mucky resulting in laundry being ruined, bottled water the drink of choice, and a lull in our ability to shower. I was assured the neighborhood cable problems had been resolved, but we were still out. The next morning, we were shocked into the reality of a fried coffee pot.  No television, no internet for 24 hours and our stress-relieving hot tub would not stay on. Several lights and outlets stopped working.

It would have been time for Jack Daniels, but using the ice cubes would have drawn mud into the ice cube maker.

Thankfully, we are on the path to peace again, but I have been….shall we put it mildly…rattled. In this morning’s painting class, in order to center and return to my roots, I broke out my childhood Breyer Horses for models. Horses, glorious horses. Soothing to my soul. We worked on painting loosely. Well within my comfort zone.

Thanking the Angels for a multitude of reasons: no fire, no serious damage, the angel’s head is glued back on and my left hand can still hold a paint brush!

But like the damage left behind, I am left with a nagging. Listening to my angels, I’ve always considered one of my strengths. So seriously, guys and gals, what was THAT about? (Besides the obvious: stay off the computer even if they’re just calling for thunderstorms.) When I get my answer, I’ll be sure to let you know.

In the meantime, my friends “Be Blessed”. I certainly am.

Leave a Reply

