Metamorphosis

Butterfly donation

Softer than my usual work, this painting is on it’s way to a victim of the Boston Bombing. Spearheaded by Dotti Muccilli of Healing Art Works   has requested donated 5″ x 5″ paintings of butterflies. Lovely symbolism.

Learning of the project late, I rushed to do my part. Art has always healed my soul, and having a husband who has worked in healthcare for the last 20 years, this project felt like a good fit.

Found my reference photo on Paint My Photo  a great copyright- free site for photos for artists, and headed off from there.

Remembering my sadness, fear and the tragedy of that day as I sat glued to the news, I started in on this small painting. My sympathy for those locked in their homes while police scoured their neighborhood, with guns drawn was as fresh as it was yesterday.  My incredulous wonder of the reason for such violence.  Any wonder the painting looked dark.

Grabbing my india ink, I tried to lighten the flowers, by outlining, cajoling, and brightening. It just resembled little pieces flying around to ruin lives. I tried lifting paint, darkening the butterfly. Nothing seemed to help. The deadline to get it in the mail was fast approaching. So I did what I’ve learned to do. I listened. I stopped.

Whatever occurred during the break wasn’t noteworthy. Returning to the studio, I brought out the tried and true. Turn on the radio, light the candle. Stand in front of my “alter” (i.e.desk) and ask Spirit: “Please guide my heart, my head and my hands.”

Starting back in I recalled the selfless….the emergency workers, the strangers, the doctors, the nurses. I have seen people overcome overwhelming tragedy. I have witnessed miracles. Emerging gradually, softly and with great love, I painted. Because of my faith, I know my butterfly will find the victim that needs it most.

As for the first painting, the butterfly and flowers will be cut out – repurposed into a card or collage. Creating this ethereal painting has also allowed me to process those events in a different light.  Helping my soul to remember the good.

Trusting the victim who receives my butterfly may be able to land softly on some healing of their own.

3 thoughts on “Metamorphosis

  1. Love the art, love your process. In my Art Prescription workshops this is what I encourage. Step aside and allow the muse, spirit, and heart to proceed. Beautiful. Wish I’d of know of this project in time.

    1. Thank you Beverly. Your Art Prescription workshops sound wonderful and I look forward to learning more about you now that I’m following your blog. Perhaps they will extend the project’s deadline, as I’m sure a lot of people learned of it late. Thanks again for commenting.

  2. Dee, this is absolutely beautiful – the painting AND the back story. Thank you so much for sharing your gift with us and with the person into whose hands it will eventually find itself. What a wonderful gift!!

Leave a Reply

