Good and Plenty

orangeflowers

My first solo show is over. Nine of the 33 paintings have found their “forever walls”. Two other paintings have been sold through social networking. Today I delivered a commission. Four others wait in line. All five paintings entered into juried shows were accepted, and twelve paintings will be headed to the local Library to hang for two months on Thursday.

Those of you who follow my blog, must have thought I’d hit a dry spell….at least for writing.

It is the problem of plenty.

Nearly a year has passed since I resigned from my regular paying job. My business goals have not yet fully been met. This morning, as I stopped to watch the Carolina Wrens building a nest in the potbellied stove in our yard, I was startled to realize, I no longer know when I am working or playing. Swirled into one, this life has become one joyous creative process. I am grateful. I am living a song of painting, teaching, encouraging, stretching and gathering inspiration. You won’t be surprised to see the wrens in a future painting.

And yes, there is the mundane: paperwork, tags to be made, receipts to be recorded, bills to be paid, filing.

But it can be done between the plenty. And that is very good indeed.

Have you found the good and plenty in your life?

One thought on “Good and Plenty

Leave a Reply

