More Than Once in a While

Watercolor of Edwin B. Forsythe NWR, currently closed due to Superstorm Sandy

My new art class is an established group of women who have been painting, drawing and bonding once a week for quite some time.  These women are talented and fun.  But we needed to work on our new relationship.   My teaching does not follow any regular circulum.  I like to teach drawing based on Dr. Betty Edwards’ book, Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain. This was different than what they’d done in the past.

So, on our first class, I did my usual basic drawing class.  It allowed me to observe their abilities and remind them to follow the line.  They all fully grasped what I was saying, and their drawings were looking pretty good.   As I wandered around the table, my enthusiasm grew…. and they were gaining confidence with each new line they drew.

My heart sunk a bit when one said to me…”Wow, this is really different.  We don’t usually get told we’re doing a good job.”

How sad is that.

So today, in the aftermath of the tragedy that was Sandy, please, please, please tell someone – especially those first responders, utility workers, volunteers and agencies that have selflishly worked to accomplish the impossible – that they’re doing a good job.

We all need to hear it more than once in a while.

2 thoughts on “More Than Once in a While

  1. Lovely thought and so true.  It does alot for someone’s morale and confirms their efforts and makes them work even harder.  Thank YOU

  2. You ALWAYS say “I like what I see.” “You’re following the lines.” “Look at yooouuuu!”
    That spells Y-o-u-r-e d-o-i-ng a g-o-o-d j-o-b in great teacher-speak…
    Thank you for the words of encouragement 🙂

Leave a Reply

