Amazing House Commission

Private collection 21 1/2 x 12 1/2″

The above painting was a commission for a dear friend and client.  If I were 20 years younger,  and she were mean, I would envy her the life she lives.  But I am so happy for her, envy can’t enter the picture.  Eighty or so acres, a beautiful modern, but farm-house home, A barn with three horses and a boarder, an indoor riding arena, two dogs and a sweet cat. (The sweet cat alone makes me envy her now that I think about it!) We are both blessed with terrific husbands. She is giving her husband this painting as an anniversary present.

You see he built this beautiful house, and the barn, and the outbuildings, put up the fencing, landscaped, planted the fields and anything else you can imagine.   While I assume he sub-contracted some of the work, he basically built the entire spread.

House portraits mean I have to paint tight and detailed.  I’ve done quite a few and this one was special to me because of our friendship.  We have shared riding, her home and lots of good meals together with and without spouses. But as I put down each line, siding, shutter, fascia boards, railing, fence line, I became more aware of what a remarkable feat he accomplished.  These lines I was drawing were planned, purchased, handled, secured, and fashioned into a home, and a barn where people and animals are nourished and protected.  And  I only portrayed two sides of the home and barn.  In real life this home and barn have a back, and another side. And let’s not forget it has an entire interior.

The “Amazing” in the House Commissions is the amazing man who built this home.  And I thought I was creative!

Leave a Reply

