Jump for Joy

My newest client has graciously allowed me to use some photos she had sent me when we were planning the commission of her Old English Sheep Dog.   While I met their dog, Nellie, in person, these photos of her cavorting in the backyard showed an exuberance I found enchanting.

As I’ve been on an ACEO kick lately, I tackled the three photos in miniature.  Wanted to get the action of this airborne animal. It’s more difficult to do details in such a small painting,  so I wasn’t quite  sure how well the photos would translate.  But I have to admit, I like this series.  They feel what I was hoping to portray.   My favorite part is the little ball which was not even in the reference photos. (Have I told you lately how much I love being an artist?) This tiny object is the reason for the enormous energy and joy exhibited by this furball.  I call the series Jump for Joy.

I just listed them on eBay for a seven day auction.

Leave a Reply

